Search…
Syncing

Syncing

Fetch

Select the fetch tab to download commits, files and refs from the remote repository into your local repository. Fetching allows you to see what collaborators have been working on.

Committing + Pushing

The most common workflow for someone using Git is to simply commit a change and then push it. You can think of commits as "saving" and pushing as "synchronizing." Basically, commits are meaningful local changes that you choose to store as a checkpoint. Pushing is when you send those changes to a remote server so that they are always stored.
Note that you are able to commit without a network connection to the server. The file won't render until you have a network connection to the server.
For a detailed description of this workflow, click here.

Pulling

There are two main workflows using pull. The first is pulling in the desktop app to update your local repository with any changes made in the remote repository. The steps are slightly different depending on whether you’ve made changes to your local repository. For a detailed description of this workflow, click here.
The second use of pulling is a pull request for code review. This is an advanced workflow that streamlines collaboration. For a detailed description of this workflow, click here.