Teams & Permissions

Overview

Teams can be used to group together different Members within your Organization and manage their access rights. When inviting a new Member, you will select an initial Team to place them in.

The first member of your Organization is automatically placed into the Owners team, which provides full access to all Teams, repositories, and settings under your Organization. Copia recommends that you do not invite new users directly to the Owners team until after verifying they have joined your organization, as the Owners team has access to dangerous operations (like deleting the entire Organization).

Create a Team

Navigate to the Dashboard. Select the Organization you want to add a new Team to.

Choose the Teams tab and click on the Create New Team button.

Provide a Team Name, and Description. You can also choose whether Members of that Team will have access to all repositories / sites, or if they will be limited to specific repositories and DeviceLink sites added to that Team.

When finished, select the Create Team button.

You should see your new Team displayed in the Teams tab.

When you create a new Team, you will not be added to the Team by default. To add yourself to the new Team, simply click on the Join Team button.

Add a Member to a Team

You can add Members to a Team to give them access to specific repositories in Copia.

Navigate to the Teams tab.

Find the Team you wish to manage. Click on the name of the Team.

You should be presented with a Team management screen, where you can set the Members, repositories, and overall settings for your Team.

Select the Members sub tab and click on Add Member to Team. Choose the Copia account-holder you want to add. You can search for valid Members by typing into the text input at the top of the dropdown.

Select the privileges for this Member. This will set the access type for that Member to all repositories associated with that Team.

There are several types of access levels you can assign. Check out the Permissions by Account Type section to learn more.

Remove a User from a Team

To remove an account holder from a Team, navigate to the Dashboard and click on your Organization.

Choose the Team tab.

Find the Member you want to take off the Team and click the Remove From Team button.

Members who are removed from a Team will still be part of the Organization. In other words, they may still have an active read or write seat within the Organization.

Edit Permissions for a Team Member

You can edit permissions for each Member of a Team from the Team page.

Click on your Organization from the Dashboard.

Click on the Teams tab.

Choose the Team you want to manage.

You should see a list of Members, each of which has an assigned user privilege. Click the privilege dropdown to select a new permission for the Member. Your new election will automatically be saved.

Members can have varying privileges for each Team that they are assigned to.

Add a Repository to a Team

Once you've created a Team and assigned its Members, you can grant that Team access to a specific set of repositories.

Click on your Organization from the Dashboard.

Select the Teams tab.

Choose the Team you want to manage.

Click on the Repositories sub tab.

Choose the repo you want to add. You can select from the dropdown or type the name of the repo within the field. Click Add Repository to grant access to the team.

All Members will have access to the repositories that are assigned to their Team.

Accessing your Repositories

There are a few ways you can manage the repositories that you've been granted access to.

Dashboard

Your repositories will always be available from the Dashboard. Simply click on a repository from the repository card.

Repositories Screen

Another method of viewing your repositories is through the org management screens.

First, click on your Organization from the Dashboard.

You should default to the Repositories tab.

From here, you can select the repository you wish to view by clicking on it.

Teams Screen

You can also filter your repositories by Teams.

Head to the Dashboard and click on your Organization.

Click on the Teams tab.

Choose the repository you want to view by clicking on it.

Deleting a Team

Teams can be deleted by accessing the Team Settings, and pressing the Delete Team button found at the bottom of the section. The user must have permission for this operation.

Last updated